Funding for research degrees

University funding opportunities 

Faculty PhD Scholarships 2020/21

Canterbury Christ Church University Graduate College welcomes applications for full-time PhD scholarships (a stipend of £13,000 p.a., tuition fee waiver for three years and an expense allowance of £500 p. a.). In some subject areas part-time PhD scholarships will also be available (tuition fee waiver for five years and an expense allowance of £300 p.a.) and in some subjects University instructor posts are available for 4 years alongside a part-time 4 year PhD fee waiver.

Scholarships are available for doctoral projects which fall within the main research priorities of the University (healthcare and medicine; education; science and technology; creative and digital arts; business, the economy and policy) and within one of our four Faculties (Arts and Humanities, Education, Health and Wellbeing, Social and Applied Sciences).

For more information about the research taking place across our Faculties, Schools and Research Centres and links to potential academic supervisors see:

https://www.canterbury.ac.uk/study-here/postgraduate-research/research-areas/postgradute-research-areas.aspx

Scholarships are available for 2020/21 across the four Faculties as set out below. For any academic queries please contact the Graduate College (graduatecollege@canterbury.ac.uk) or the subject area specialists named below:

Faculty of Education

One full-time scholarship in epistemic insight: this PhD scholarship offers the opportunity to investigate epistemic insight and the ways that students, teachers and tutors in every phase of education can ask and explore different types of questions including big questions that bridge science, religion and the wider humanities (see epistemicinsight.com). For more information about this scholarship contact Professor Berry Billingsley (berry.billingsley@canterbury.ac.uk).

One further full-time scholarship in Education. This is an open call in any subject area falling within the field of Education. For more information about this scholarship contact Dr Ruth Rogers (ruth.rogers@canterbury.ac.uk). 

General enquiries: Dr Lynn Revell (lynn.revell@canterbury.ac.uk) (Faculty Director of Research)

Faculty of Arts and Humanities

Scholarship applications are welcomed within any area of supervisory expertise. These include, but are not limited to, the following fields of research. Please contact the named postgraduate lead in the relevant School or Centre for further information.

School of Humanities: 

  • American Studies
  • Archaeology
  • English
  • History
  • Theology

Dr. Leonie Hicks (leonie.hicks@canterbury.ac.uk)

Archaeology MPhil/PhD

For further information, please contact Dr Leonie Hicks (leonie.hicks@canterbury.ac.uk

Available MPhil and PhD supervisors

Dr Andy Seaman: (andy.seaman@canterbury.ac.uk)

  • early and late medieval settlement and landscape
  • Christianity and the early Church
  • early medieval economies.

Dr Ellie Williams: (ellie.williams@canterbury.ac.uk)

  • Osteoarchaeology
  • Archaeology of death and burial
  • Heritage and community archaeology

Dr Lesley Hardy: (lesley.hardy@canterbury.ac.uk)

  • heritage and public history / the uses of the past within cultures and societies
  • historiography / how history is written and understood

Centre for Languages and Linguistics:

  • Applied Linguistics

Dr. Christopher Anderson (christopher.anderson@canterbury.ac.uk)

School of Creative Arts and Industries:

  • Digital Media
  • Media and Cultural Studies
  • Theology
  • Screen Cultures

 Prof. Shane Blackman (shane.blackman@canterbury.ac.uk)

  • Music
  • Performing Arts 

      Prof. Robert Rawson (robert.rawson@canterbury.ac.uk)

General Enquiries: Dr. Chris Pallant (chris.pallant@canterbury.ac.uk) (Faculty Director of Research)

Faculty of Health and Wellbeing  

Scholarship applications are welcomed in any of the key areas of research in the Faculty: Mental Health, Arts and Health, Practice Development and Improvement Research, Social Inclusion and Health Inequalities, Care for Long-Term Conditions, Child Health and Wellbeing.

Please contact the Director of PhD Studies in the Faculty of Health and Wellbeing for further information: Dr Janet Melville-Wiseman (janet.melville-wiseman@canterbury.ac.uk)

General enquiries: Professor Eleni Hatzidimitriadou (eleni.hatzidimitriadou@canterbury.ac.uk) (Faculty Director of Research and Enterprise)

Faculty of Social and Applied Sciences 

Scholarship applications are welcomed for the following PhD projects:

Law, Policing and Forensics - 1 full-time PhD scholarship in one of the following areas:

  • Policing (in vulnerability, police education or policing futures)
  • Law (IT Law or International Criminal Law)
  • Forensic Investigation (Approaches to understanding gunshot residue or heritage crime detection)

Contact Professor Steve Tong (steve.tong@canterbury.ac.uk)

Sociology - 1 full-time scholarship in one or a combination of the following areas:

  • Youth Transitions and Emerging Adulthood
  • Sociology of Higher Education
  • Generational Differences and Relationships

Contact Dr Sarah Cant (sarah.cant@canterbury.ac.uk)

Human and Life Sciences – 1 full-time scholarship in one of the following two areas

  • Sport and Exercise Sciences - Post-natal physical activity

Contact Dr Hayley Mills (hayley.mills@canterbury.ac.uk)

  • Life Sciences – Algal carbon capture in mushroom cultivation for the extraction of high value products.

Contact Asma Ahmed (asma.ahmed@canterbury.ac.uk)  or Joe Burman (joseph.burman@canterbury.ac.uk)

Business School – 2 instructor scholarships (part-time PhD fee waiver for 4 years, alongside 4 years part-time employment as a University instructor) in one of the following areas:

  • Evaluation methods for the arts and cultural sectors;
  • Entrepreneurship and innovation in SMEs;
  • Optimal fiscal policies and the barriers to implementing these;
  • Corporate governance, accounting quality and sustainability

Contact Dr Richard McManus (richard.mcmanus@canterbury.ac.uk)

General enquiries: Professor Jan Burns (jan.burns@canterbury.ac.uk) (Faculty Director of Research)

The closing date for applications has been extended to 17 April 2020.

To be eligible for consideration for a scholarship you must have applied for both a place on the PhD programme as well as a scholarship by the scholarship application deadline of 17 April 2020.

For any queries about the application and admissions process please contact Postgraduate Admissions (pgadmissions@canterbury.ac.uk)

External funding available

Postgraduate Doctoral Loans

Government loans are available for a full stand-alone Doctoral course (not a top-up course). The loans will be paid directly to students by the Student Loans Company and will be subject to eligibility criteria. Read more about Postgraduate Doctoral Loans.

Externally funded PhD opportunities

Arts and Humanities Research Council - PhD Scholarship in Archaeology 2020/21

CCCU and Mola CDP

Self-funding

We also welcome applications from self-funded candidates.

 

Connect with us

Last edited: 27/03/2020 09:41:00