If you are looking to undertake a career development opportunity but finding it financially difficult to do so, then you may be eligible to benefit from the Career Development Fund.

If your career development opportunity is in an unpaid or low-paid role or has additional costs associated which would make it difficult for you to take up the opportunity without financial assistance, we have two bursaries available to help.

The Career Development Fund 2022/23 will run until the end of July 2023 or until funds are exhausted. Early applications are advised as funds are limited. For qualifying criteria, and full details of what the bursaries can be used for, please see the Career Development Fund Terms and Conditions.

The bursaries available are:

  • Travel Bursary: for assistance with travel costs (individual applications only).
  • Career Start Bursary: for all other costs associated with the work experience. Examples of possible uses for the Career Start Bursary include costs for buying suitable workwear, ad hoc childcare, specialist software and money to attend a conference (individual and group applications welcome).

Please note that in order for us to process your application, you must be registered on The Careers and Enterprise Online Hub.

Watch Katie's vlog to see what can be achieved with the use of the Career Development Fund (previously known as the Work Experience Fund).

How to apply

  1. Before completing the application form ensure that you have downloaded, read and understood the  Career Development Fund Terms and Conditions. This document outlines what the criteria is for applicants, Career Development opportunity, and your responsibilities, should you be awarded the funds. You should also read the Frequently Asked Questions for other topics not covered in the Career Development Fund Terms and Conditions

  2. Submit a completed application form for your required Bursary (Travel Bursary or Career Start Bursary) and provide evidence of your eligibility and proof of the career development opportunity that you will be undertaking.  Include as much detail as possible in your application. All applications will be considered on an individual basis based on the information you provide in the application form.
  3. Travel Bursary: Applications for this bursary run from September 2022 till the end of July 2023. We will acknowledge receipt of your application form within three working days and aim to get back to you with a decision within seven working days.  If you have any questions, please direct them to cdf@canterbury.ac.uk. 

  4. The Career Start Bursary is awarded following regular panel meetings. The provisional dates for these meetings for 2022/23 are provisionally as follows:
    • Thursday 15th September 2022 (application deadline Fri 9th September 2022)
    • Thursday 20th October 2022 (application deadline Fri 14th October 2022)
    • Thursday 24th November 2022 (application deadline Fri 18th November 2022)
    • Thursday 15th December 2022 (application deadline Fri 9th December 2022)
    • Thursday 26th January 2023 (application deadline Fri 20th January 2023)
    • Thursday 23rd February 2023 (application deadline Fri 17th February 2023)
    • Thursday 23rd March 2023 (application deadline Fri 17th March 2023)
    • Thursday 27th April 2023 (application deadline Fri 21st April 2023)
    • Thursday 25th May 2023 (application deadline Fri 19th May 2023)
    • Thursday 22nd June 2023 (application deadline Fri 16th June 2023)
    • Tuesday 11th July 2023 (application deadline Fri 7th July 2023)

The Career Development Fund 2022/23 will run until 31st July 2022 at 5pm or until funds are exhausted. Early applications are advised as funds are limited.

Make sure you look at the Frequently Asked Questions for further information. If you require any help with your bursary application, you can email cdf@canterbury.ac.uk.

Feedback

If you have already made use of the Career Development Fund and found it helpful, please get in touch and tell us more. We'd also love to hear about your career development opportunity and how it helped in preparing you for your career after university. To get in touch, please contact  cdf@canterbury.ac.uk.

Watch Katie's vlog to see what can be achieved with the use of the Career Development Fund (previously known as the Work Experience Fund).