Canterbury’s parliamentary candidates for July’s general election will come together on Wednesday 19 June to take part in a special hustings hosted by Canterbury Christ Church University.

The event will be held at the University’s Augustine Hall on Wednesday 19 June. Organised by the University’s Politics and International Relations programme, as part of their Making Politics Matter campaign, and the Students’ Union. The event will see all of the contesting candidates from the Conservatives, the Green Party, Labour, Liberal Democrats, Reform Party and Social Democratic Party make their case to an audience of local residents, University students and staff, and local secondary school pupils as to why they should be elected to represent Canterbury as Member of Parliament.

Each candidate will be given a period of time to outline their party’s main policies after which a question and answer session with the audience will follow.

Questions to the candidates can be submitted both prior to the event via email – - and by audience members on the evening.

The event will also be streamed live by KMTV and reported on by Kentonline throughout the evening.

Partners for the 2024 general election hustings include Christ Church Students’ Union Canterbury Society, Alliance of Canterbury Residents Association, Canterbury Inter-faith Group, Kent Wildlife Trust, and Ethnic Minorities in Canterbury.

The 2024 general election husting will take place on Wednesday 19 June 7- 9pm, Augustine Hall, Augustine House, Canterbury Christ Church University, Rhodaus Town, Canterbury CT1 2YA. A pre-event reception from 6.30pm will take place in the lobby of Augustine House.

The event is free and open to all, but booking is essential. To book your place visit:


Parliamentary candidates announced standing for Canterbury are:

  • Conservative Party - Louise Harvey-Quirke (confirmed)
  • Green Party - Henry Stanton (confirmed)
  • Labour - Rosie Duffield (confirmed)
  • Liberal Democrats - Russ Timpson (confirmed)
  • Reform Party - Bridget Porter (confirmed)
  • Social Democratic Party – Luke Buchanan-Hodgman (confirmed)