Undergraduate Degree Marking

How is my undergraduate degree marked and calculated?

To pass your undergraduate honours degree, you must achieve 120 credits at each level of study (levels 4, 5 and 6).

In order to achieve credits, you are required to pass all your modules, achieving at least 40% in each module. There may be an exception, if your programme allows compensation. Please read the Guide to Undergraduate Assessment and Award Processes for further information.

The Process of Marking

The process for marking the work you complete within your modules is rigorous and thorough; the final marks for each of your assessment activities (exams, coursework, etc), is marked, reviewed and moderated consistently and fairly by internal members of the University and external academics according to the following steps:

Completed assessment activities are marked by an approved examiner. 

Assessment activities are then either:  

  • second marked, meaning a sample of the marked assessment activities is reviewed by a University approved examiner to ensure that the criteria for assessment and arrangements for feedback have been appropriately applied or 

  • Double marked (where required by the University's Regulation and Credit Framework) meaning the summative assessments for all students are reviewed by a second approved examiner.  

When all of the submitted assessment activities have been considered and a mark allocated, a sample of marked assessment activities is then reviewed by an External Examiner.  

Final module marks are submitted to a Board of Examiners, which includes University examiners and the External Examiner. There are two types of Boards of Examiners: Module Boards of Examiners, which confirm module marks and meet at the end of a semester/trimester or term and, Progression and Award Boards of Examiners, which confirm student progression and confer awards and meet at the end of a Level of Study.  Your Programme Team will be able to advise when the different Boards are meeting. 

The Module Board will confirm your module mark. At the end of the Level of Study, a Progression and Award Board will decide on your progression.  


Please note the timings may vary for part-time programmes. 

The outcome at the end of the marking process could be:

a) You are awarded a pass so can progress on to the next level of study or complete your award.

b) You have not yet passed a level and cannot progress so you may:

  • Be eligible for further assessment opportunities (e.g. first reassessment). 
  • Have exhausted your reassessment opportunities and are required to withdraw. You will be awarded credits for passed modules.

Once you have achieved a pass in 360 credits (120 credits at each level of study – levels 4, 5 and 6) your final degree classification is calculated using your raw marks.

For most undergraduate degrees, the classification is calculated using marks from your best 100 credits at level 5 and your best 100 credits at level 6.Level 5 accounts for 40% of your final mark and level 6 accounts for 60% of your final mark. 

What mark is required to achieve

A First Class Honours (a 1st)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 70% or above.

An Upper Second Class Honours (a 2:1)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 60% – 69%.

A Lower Second Class Honours (a 2:2)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 50% - 59%.

A Third Class Honours (a 3rd)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 40% - 49%.  


Connect with us

Last edited: 25/03/2020 14:57:00