University Dates 2018-19

Term dates
Key Dates
Academic Year Sat 1 Sep 2018 - Sat 31 Aug 2019
Easter Good Friday, 19 Apr 2019 - Easter Monday, 22 Apr 2019
Bank Holidays
Christmas
Student Holidays (non-teaching)

Semester/Term Dates

The following outlines University semester/term dates, as well as specific programmes of study within the Faculties of Education and Health and Wellbeing. 

Please note:

There are a number of courses, including Apprenticeships, where dates and holidays may vary depending upon placements, professional body requirements, Local Authority School dates, etc. Students should therefore refer to their School/Programme Lead through the University’s student portal/Blackboard or Individual Student Timetables for information on dates for their individual course of study.

This calendar is mainly used by General Modular Scheme (GMS) Undergraduate Degree Programmes, however there may be some exceptions. Please contact your programme team for more details about the calendar you are on.

Calendar A Key Dates
  2018/19
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 24 Sep 2018 - Fri 18 Jan 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 7 Jan 2019 - Fri 18 Jan 2019
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 21 Jan 2019 - Fri 17 May 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Tue 7 May 2019 - Fri 17 May 2019
Reassessment period Mon 8 Jul 2019 - Fri 12 Jul 2019
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 17 Dec 2018 - Tue 1 Jan 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 15 Apr 2019 - Fri 26 Apr 2019 (inclusive)


Download Calendar A (PDF)

This calendar is typically for use by programmes that require a longer academic year to meet external professional requirements. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Calendar B1 - Key Dates
  2018/19
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 10 Sep 2018 - Fri 8 Feb 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 4 Feb 2019 - Fri 8 Feb 2019
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 11 Feb 2019 - Fri 12 Jul 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 24 Jun 2019 - Fri 12 Jul 2019
Reassessment period Mon 19 Aug 2019 - Fri 23 Aug 2019
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 24 Dec 2018 - Fri 4 Jan 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 8 Apr 2019 - Mon 22 Apr 2019 (inclusive)

Download Calendar B1 (PDF)

This calendar is typically for use by programmes that require a longer academic year and alignment with Kent School holiday dates to meet external professional requirements. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Calendar B2 - Key Dates
  2018/19
Semester 1: Advent Semester Mon 10 Sep 2018 - Fri 8 Feb 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 4 Feb 2019 - Fri 8 Feb 2019
Semester 2: Easter Semester Mon 11 Feb 2019 - Fri 12 Jul 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 24 Jun 2019 - Fri 12 Jul 2019
Reassessment period Mon 19 Aug 2019 - Fri 23 Aug 2019
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Thur 20 Dec 2018 - Wed 2 Jan 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 8 Apr 2019 - Mon 22 Apr 2019 (inclusive)

Download Calendar B2 (PDF)

This calendar is typically in use for accelerated degree programmes and postgraduate taught (PGT) programmes. This calendar has trimester 1 and 2 matching semester 1 and 2 (A: Semesters) and a compressed trimester 3 over the summer period. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar C - Key Dates
  2018/19
Trimester 1: Advent Trimester Mon 24 Sep 2018 - Fri 18 Jan 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 7 Jan 2019 - Fri 18 Jan 2019
Trimester 2: Easter Trimester Mon 21 Jan 2019 - Fri 17 May 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Tue 7 May 2019 - Fri 17 May 2019
Trimester 3: Michaelmas Trimester Mon 3 Jun 2019 - Fri 30 Aug 2019 
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 19 Aug 2019 - Fri 30 Aug 2019
Reassessment period To take place in Formal Assssment/Examination Period in following trimester
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 17 Dec 2018 - Tue 1 Jan 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 15 Apr 2019 - Fri 26 Apr 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 20 May 2019 - Fri 31 May 2019 (inclusive)

Download Calendar C (PDF)

This calendar is typically in use for employment based programmes i.e. Foundation Degrees and Apprenticeships, where students typically attend one day a week only.  This calendar has three trimesters of equal length. If you are unsure of what calendar you are on, please contact your programme team.

Academic Calendar D - Key Dates
  2018/19
Trimester 1: Advent Trimester Mon 10 Sep 2018 - Fri 21 Dec 2018
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 3 Dec  2018 - Fri 21 Dec 2018
Trimester 2: Easter Trimester Mon 7 Jan 2019 - Fri 3 May 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Mon 1 Apr 2019 - Fri 3 May 2019
Trimester 3: Michaelmas Trimester Tues 7 May 2019 - Fri 16 Aug 2019
Formal Assessment/ Examination Period Monday 29 Jul 2019 - Fri 16 Aug 2019
Reassessment period Mon 2 Sep 2019 - Fri 6 Sep 2019
Student Holidays (non-teaching) Mon 24 Dec 2018 - Fri 4 Jan 2019 (inclusive)
Mon 8 Apr 2019 - Mon 22 Apr 2019 (inclusive)

Download Calendar D (PDF)

Please note: If you are unsure of the calendar that you are on, please contact your programme team for details.

University Term Dates (Postgraduate)

Term dates
Michaelmas Term Mon 24 Sep 2018 - Fri 7 Dec 2018
Lent Term Mon 7 Jan 2019 - Fri 22 Mar 2019
Trinity Term
Mon 22 Apr 2019 - Fri 21 Jun 2019

Faculty of Education

Term dates
Michaelmas Term
PCET Mon 3 Sep 2018 - Fri 14 Dec 2018
Lent Term
PCET Wed 2 Jan 2019 - Fri 29 Mar 2019
Trinity Term
PCET Mon 15 Apr 2019 - Fri 21 Jun 2019
 
  Programme Registration Events Sat 8 & Sun 9 Sept 2018
Semester 1 PGCE Primary, 7-14 & Secondary Mon 10 Sep 2018 – Fri 8 Feb 2019
   

Christmas break
Mon 24 Dec 2018 – Fri 4 Jan 2019

Semester 2 PGCE Primary, 7-14 & Secondary Mon 11 Feb 2019 – Fri 12 Jul 2019
   

Easter break
Mon 1 Apr 2019 – Fri 12 Apr 2019

University Term Dates (Postgraduate)

Term dates
Michaelmas Term Mon 24 Sep 2018 - Fri 7 Dec 2018
Lent Term Mon 7 Jan 2019 - Fri 22 Mar 2019
Trinity Term
Mon 22 Apr 2019 - Fri 21 Jun 2019

Please note that PGCE Programme Term Dates are subject to re-validation and will be confirmed shortly.

Term dates
Welcome and Induction (1st Year Undergraduate Students) Mon 10 Sep 2018 - Fri 14 Sep 2018
Term dates
Michaelmas Term Mon 17 Sep 2018 - Fri 7 Dec 2018
Lent Term Wed 2 Jan 2019 - Fri 22 Mar 2019
Trinity Term
Mon 15 Apr 2019 - Fri 14 Jun 2019

Primary Education (Progression Route)

Term dates
Michaelmas Term Mon 10 Sep 2018 - Fri 14 Dec 2018
Lent Term Wed 2 Jan 2019 - Fri 22 Mar 2019
Trinity Term
Mon 15 Apr 2019 - Fri 19 Jul 2019

 

 

Contact us

Share

Connect with us

Last edited: 09/11/2018 09:16:00