Degree Marking

How is my undergraduate degree marked and calculated?

To pass your undergraduate honours degree, you must achieve 120 credits at each level of study (levels 4, 5 and 6).

In order to achieve credits, you are required to pass all your modules, achieving at least 40% in each module. There may be an exception, if your programme allows compensation. Please read the Guide to Undergraduate Assessment and Award Processes for further information.

The Process of Marking

The process for marking the work you complete within your modules is rigorous and thorough; the final marks for each of your assessment activities (exams, coursework, etc), is marked, reviewed and moderated consistently and fairly by internal members of the University and external academics according to the following steps:

  1. The completed assessment activity is marked by a Canterbury Christ Church academic (an internal examiner).
  2. Assessment activities are then EITHER double marked (where required by the regulations) OR a sample of the marked assessments are reviewed by a second internal examiner at the University.
  3. When all of the assessments have been marked, moderated and reviewed internally, a sample of marked assessments is then reviewed by an external examiner and the final module mark is calculated.
  4. Final module marks are submitted to a Board of Examiners, which includes the internal examiners and the external examiner who provides an impartial perspective and independent advice to ensure that the marking is consistent, fair and meets required standards and national expectation. The Board of Examiners typically takes place at the end of a semester or academic year.

The outcome at the end of the marking process could be:

a) You are awarded a pass so can progress on to the next level of study or complete your award.

b) You have not yet passed a level and cannot progress so you may:

  • Be eligible for further assessment opportunities (e.g. first reassessment). 
  • Be eligible to repeat the academic year.
  • Have exhausted your reassessment opportunities and are required to withdraw. You will be awarded credits for passed modules.

Once you have achieved a pass in 360 credits (120 credits at each level of study – levels 4, 5 and 6) your final degree classification is calculated using your raw marks.

For most undergraduate degrees, the classification is calculated using marks from your best 100 credits at level 5 and your best 100 credits at level 6.Level 5 accounts for 40% of your final mark and level 6 accounts for 60% of your final mark. 

What mark is required to achieve

A First Class Honours (a 1st)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 70% or above.

An Upper Second Class Honours (a 2:1)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 60% – 69%.

A Lower Second Class Honours (a 2:2)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 50% - 59%.

A Third Class Honours (a 3rd)? Your calculated overall mark awarded by a Board of Examiners must be 40% - 49%.  


Connect with us

Last edited: 04/12/2017 19:36:00