Academic Year 2012/13

The University has been pleased to welcome the following Honorary Fellows and Doctors in the academic year 2012/13:

Honorary Fellows

Mr Pye Hastings Mr Pye Hastings

Born in Tominavoulin, Scotland in January 1947, Pye moved to Canterbury at the age of nine. He was educated at Littlebourne Preparatory School and Pilgrims Boarding School in Lydden.

Pye was given his first guitar on his 17th birthday by his sister, Jane. He was soon a leading light in the Canterbury scene going on to form Caravan in 1967. The band’s eponymous first album was released in 1968 and 21 albums later he’s still recording... and not done yet!

Mr Geoffrey Richardson Mr Geoffrey Richardson

A native of Leicestershire, but moving to Canterbury forty years ago to join the legendary rock group Caravan, Geoffrey has had an unusual career in music as a progressive rock multi-instrumentalist, a string arranger, a film and television composer, and as a member of the Penguin Café Orchestra.

Honorary Doctorates

Mr Michael Craig-Martin Mr Michael Craig-Martin

Michael Craig-Martin CBE RA studied Fine Art at Yale University 1961-1966. On completion of his studies he took up a teaching position first at Bath Academy of Art and then at Canterbury College of Art, now the University’s Sidney Cooper Gallery. Craig-Martin went on to teach at Goldsmiths College, where his students included notable artists such as Damien Hirst, Sarah Lucas, Michael Landy, Julian Opie, Fiona Rae and Gary Hume.

Now Emeritus Professor of Fine Art, Goldsmiths College, he was awarded a CBE in 2001 and elected a Royal Academician in 2006. He has achieved international recognition for his work and continues to influence contemporary British Art. Public collections of Craig-Martin’s work include Tate Gallery, Museum of Modern Art, New York, Centre Pompidou, Paris, and Australian National Gallery, Canberra.

The Right Hon the Lord Mance The Right Hon the Lord Mance

Lord Mance read law at University College, Oxford, spent time with a Hamburg law firm in 1965 and then practised at the commercial bar. He was appointed QC in 1982.

From 1993 to 1999, Lord Mance was a Judge of the High Court, becoming a Lord Justice of Appeal of England and Wales from 1999 to 2005. He then sat as one of the twelve members of the Appellate Committee of the House of Lords until 2009.

From 2000 to 2011, he represented the United Kingdom on the Council of Europe’s Consultative Council of European Judges, elected its first chair between 2000 and 2003.

Current appointments include chair of the Executive Council of the International Law Association and chair of the Lord Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on Private International Law.

Ms Moira Stuart OBE Ms Moira Stuart OBE

Moira Stuart's career in radio and television spans more than two decades. She started her BBC career as a production assistant in Radio's Talks and Documentaries department in the 1970’s, before making history by becoming the first black BBC Radio 4 announcer and newsreader, and a programme presenter. Moira moved to television news in 1981 to become the first female African-Caribbean national newsreader on British screens, presenting every type of BBC News bulletin before leaving in 2007, after three decades with the Corporation.

During her career Moira has presented many programmes on radio and television including Best Of Jazz on Radio 2, BBC1’s The Holiday Programme, Have I Got News For You, and her documentary In Search of Wilberforce - which offers a new perspective on the abolition of the transAtlantic slave trade. In 2004 Moira was one of the first subjects featured in BBC One’s successful documentary series Who Do You Think You Are? And in 2006, she made a memorable appearance as herself in Ricky Gervais' hugely popular series - Extras. She now works alongside Chris Evans on his award winning BBC Radio 2 breakfast show.

Her career has been recognised in the industry with numerous awards including the TV and Radio Industries Club Best Newscaster award, the Women Of Achievement Television Personality award; and in 2001 she received an OBE for her services to broadcasting.

Moira has served on various boards and judging panels including Amnesty International, The Royal Television Society, BAFTA, United Nations Association, the London Fair Play Consortium, the Human Genetics Advisory Commission, the Orange Prize for Literature, the BUPA Communications Panel, the IVCA, the Queen's Anniversary Prize, and the Grierson Trust.

Mr Anthony Browne Mr Anthony Browne

Anthony Browne was born in Sheffield and has produced 46 books for children, among them Gorilla, Voices in the Park, and Willy the Wimp.

His books have won the Kate Greenaway medal, the Kurt Maschler ‘Emil’ and in 2000 he was awarded the Hans Christian Andersen medal, an international award given to an illustrator for their body of work. He was the Children’s Laureate from 2009 - 2011.   


Connect with us

Last edited: 13/12/2018 11:57:00