Academic Writing

From here you can find out how to start your essay or assignment and steps you can take to prepare yourself to complete them successfully.

Information is available on how to write academically, alongside support on developing your critical and analytical skills. Using an academic writing style and format will help improve the quality of your work. This page includes tips on how to develop and improve your drafts, and how to turn them into the finished piece of work ready for submission.

Resources Available

To help you develop your academic skills, we have created learning resources that you can make use of when preparing for your next essay, assignment or exam. The following resources are recommended if you would like tips and ideas to improve your writing skills:

The complete set of resources can be found on Blackboard, under the Student Support tab> Academic Learning Development> Resources> Essays and Assignments.

Workshops

There are several workshops taking place through the academic year that can help you improve your essay writing skills across our campuses.

Effective reading & note-taking

  • STUDY BETTER 3: Wed 18 Oct 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

Referencing & Plagiarism Prevention (Harvard Style)

  • WRITE BETTER 1: Wed 1 Nov 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21
  • WRITE BETTER 12: Mon 12 Mar 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

Plan & prep your assignment

  • WRITE BETTER 2: Mon 6 Nov 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21
  • WRITE BETTER 10: Thu 1 Mar 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

Discussion, Argument and Critical Analysis

  • WRITE BETTER 3: Wed 15 Nov 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21
  • WRITE BETTER 14: Tue 27 Mar 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH3.31
  • WRITE BETTER 15: Thu 26 Apr 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

How to get a first

  • WRITE BETTER 9: Tue 20 Feb 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

Academic writing style

  • WRITE BETTER 4: Mon 20 Nov 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH2.23

Taking essays to the next level

  • WRITE BETTER 5: Tues 5 Dec 2017, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21
  • WRITE BETTER 11: Thu 8 Mar 2018, 12.30-2pm, AH1.21

Referencing & Plagiarism Prevention (Harvard Style)

  • Tues 31 Oct 2017, 12.30 - 2pm, KICF09
  • Tue 13 Mar 2018, 12.30 - 2pm, KICF10 

Plan & prep your assignment

  • Fri 10 Nov 2017, 12.30 - 2pm, KICF10
  • Wed 28 Feb 2018, 12.30 - 2pm, KICF10

Discussion, Argument and Critical Analysis

  • Tues 21 Nov 2017, 12:30 - 2pm, KICF06
  • Mon 26 Mar 2018, 12.30 - 2pm, KICF08

Referencing & Plagiarism Prevention (Harvard Style)

  • WRITE BETTER 1: Mon 9 Oct 2017, 12.30-2pm, RWg14
  • WRITE BETTER 6: Mon 14 May 2018, 12.30 - 2pm, CCf01

Plan & prep your assignment

  • WRITE BETTER 3: Wed 15 Nov 2017, 12.30-2pm, RWg13
  • WRITE BETTER 7: Tues 22 May 2018, 12.30 - 2pm, CCf01

You can download the full workshop schedule or visit the Student Events Calendar for more details.

Additional workshop topics can be offered on request. Please email learner@canterbury.ac.uk if you have a specific request for an additional workshop.

Tutorials

If you would like to book a one-to-one tutorial you can contact us by emailing learner@canterbury.ac.uk or calling 01227 922 641.

Share

Connect with us

Last edited: 15/12/2017 15:58:00