You are here: 
Home > Support > Learning and Teaching Enhancement Unit > Academic Professional Development

Staff Development and Training


The new UK Professional Standards Framework| provides a general description of the main dimensions of the roles of teaching and supporting learning within the HE environment. It is written from the perspective of the practitioner and outlines a national Framework for comprehensively recognising and benchmarking teaching and learning support roles within Higher Education.

The Dimensions of Practice describe three components, Professional values, Core knowledge and Areas of activity.

The key characteristics are a set of statements outlining someone performing within one of four broad categories of typical teaching and learning support roles within Higher Education. The characteristics are linked with professional recognition| through the Higher Education Academy conferring the status of Associate Fellow, Fellow, Senior Fellow or Principal Fellow

 Currently the University professional Development Framework supports recognition at Associate Fellow and Fellow levels. Support for experienced staff is currently under reconsideration following the publication of these new Standards and recognition categories.||

The LTEU organises a wide range of staff development:


Learning and Teaching

The National Teaching Fellowship Scheme |annually offers £10,000 to successful applicants to develop their practice in learning and teaching. CCCU selects applicants through our internal Teaching Fellowship Awards|. Applications are welcome anytime from 1st December each year.

Learning Technology